List of Holidays 2023 Government, Public & Bank Holidays in India

List of Holidays:-All open and confidential banks stay shut on different public and public occasions. Every state has its own list of state bank holidays in addition to these ones. Every bank must announce a public holiday every second and fourth Saturday of the month under the 2015 decision. However, all online banking applications and services, as well as online transactions like bill payments, money transfers, and ATMs, will continue to function throughout the year.

Knowing when banks will also be closed for the long weekend is also essential. As the year 2023 begins, here is a list of long bank holiday weekends for your reference if you want to plan your finances and work around bank holidays.

List of Holidays 2023

Under the Negotiable Instruments Act of 1881, the State Government, the Central Government, and the Union Territories of India list bank holidays. Nationally, banks in India remain closed on three days per year: Republic Day on January 26, Independence Day on August 15, and Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti on October 2.

In addition to these three days, Indian banks are closed on state and federal holidays, as well as on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month. We have listed all of India’s bank holidays in 2023 for each state here. Examine the list to make the necessary preparations for your bank visit.

List of Holidays

List of Holidays 2023 Details

Article Name List of Holidays
Notification Released on Released soon
Category Trends
Official Website www.list.of.holidays

Check Also-

Bank Holidays 2023

In India in the year 2023, there are a slew of bank holidays. The banks will be closed on a number of additional public holidays, in addition to the three gazetted holidays (Independence Day, Republic Day, and Gandhi Jayanti). State-by-state differences in bank holidays may occur. The banks, however, will be closed in all states on major religious festivals such as Diwali, Holi, Eid, and so on. Bank holidays are listed here for further information.

Types of Bank Holidays

There are two kinds of bank holidays in India

. These are:

  • National holidays, also known as gazetted holidays, are days when banks are closed by the Central, State, and Union Territory governments in accordance with the Negotiable Instruments (NI) Act of 1881.
  • Further subdivided into State Government bank holidays and Central Government bank holidays are government holidays. While the former is unique to each state, the latter is prevalent throughout the entire nation.

Read Also-

List of Bank Holidays in 2023

Indian banks remain closed on official and some unofficial holidays. The following is a list of 2023 bank holidays:

Date Holiday
1 January 2022, Sunday New Year’s Day
23 January 2022, Monday Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Jayanti
26 January 2022, Thursday Republic Day
5 February 2022, Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti
18 February, Saturday Maha Shivaratri
8 March, Wednesday Holi
22 March, Wednesday Ugadi
30 March, Thursday Ram Navami
4 April, Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti
7 April, Friday Good Friday
14 April, Friday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
22 April, Saturday Idul Fitr
1 May, Monday May Day/Labour Day
5 May, Friday Buddha Purnima
29 June, Thursday Bakrid / Eid al Adha
29 July, Saturday Muharram
15 August, Tuesday Independence Day
16 August, Wednesday Parsi New Year
31 August, Thursday Raksha Bandhan
7 September, Thursday Janmashtami
19 September, Tuesday Ganesh Chaturthi
28 September, Thursday Eid e Milad
2 October, Monday Gandhi Jayanti
21 October, Saturday Maha Saptami
22 October, Sunday Maha Ashtami
23 October, Monday Maha Navami
24 October, Tuesday Vijaya Dashami
12 November, Sunday Diwali
13 November, Monday Deepavali Holiday
15 November, Wednesday Bhai Dooj
27 November, Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti
25 December, Monday Christmas Day

Can Check-

Bank Holiday 2023 – Mandatory Off

Banks in India remain closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month, in addition to the aforementioned bank holidays. On the other hand, if a month has five Saturdays, the fifth Saturday is declared a bank holiday. In 2023, the following days will be required of banks to remain closed:

Date Occasion
14th January Second Saturday
28th January Fourth Saturday
11th February Second Saturday
25th February Fourth Saturday
11th March Second Saturday
25th March Fourth Saturday
8th April Second Saturday
22nd April Fourth Saturday
29th April Fifth Saturday
13th May Second Saturday
27th May Fourth Saturday
10th June Second Saturday
24th June Fourth Saturday
8th July Second Saturday
22nd July Fourth Saturday
29th July Fifth Saturday
12th August Second Saturday
26th August Fourth Saturday
9th September Second Saturday
23rd September Fourth Saturday
30th September Fifth Saturday
14th October Second Saturday
28th October Fourth Saturday
11th November Second Saturday
25th November Fourth Saturday
9th December Second Saturday
23rd December Fourth Saturday
30th December Fifth Saturday


Can Check-

How are Bank Holidays in India Decided?

Every month, unique festivals and celebrations are held in India because the country is multicultural. However, not everyone observes all celebrations. The central and state governments of India work together to decide when Bank Holidays are celebrated, keeping in mind the significance of these days for people of particular identities. While the state or union territorial governments determine bank holidays for local festivals that are restricted to a specific region, the central government determines national bank holidays.

There are a variety of distinct festivals and celebrations conducted every month in India because it is a multiethnic nation. However, not everyone observes the same events. Bank Holidays in India are coordinated by the federal and state governments to keep in mind the importance of events for persons of certain identities. On a national level, the central government determines whether or not bank holidays for local festivals are limited to a certain area and are selected by state or union territorial governments.

Can Check-

Bank Holiday List PDF Download 2023

Various online websites can be used by those looking for the holidays in the coming months. Calendars with holidays marked on them are also available on the website.

  • to download the Bank Holiday List PDF. You must visit the calendar online website www.list.of.holidays
  • After that, look for the Indian bank holiday calendar and then pick one of the many options that are presented.
  • You can get it from the website, print it out, and stick or hang it whenever you want.


How many bank holidays are there in 2023 in India?

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has established bank holidays for the days 3, 18, 24, 26, 25, 27, 30 and 31 of December.

How many banking holidays in 2023?

In the year 2023, there will be 11 federal holidays. Federal employees are entitled to take the public holidays listed below as paid vacation days under federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103).

How many bank holidays are there in a year in India?

Up to 16 holidays are observed per year by central government organizations, including three national holidays: New Year's Day, Valentine's Day, and Christmas. As mandatory holidays, they include Republic Day, Independence Day, and Mahatma Gandhi's birthday.

Related post :-


Leave a Comment